Religion is increasingly the problem

Lately I’ve been talking to several people who have emphatically stated that America is a primarily pagan country and definitely post-Christian.  These people have traveled across the country more extensively than I have (I guess I’m just a good ole Bible Belted Southern Boy).  Perhaps it is not news to some of you who live in the northeast or westcoast, but I hear that it is relatively impossible to find ANY church service in some locations.

So I did a little research and came across a great, but somewhat gruesome article at The Christian Science Monitor. Here are a few excerpts:

We are on the verge – within 10 years – of a major collapse of evangelical Christianity. This breakdown will follow the deterioration of the mainline Protestant world and it will fundamentally alter the religious and cultural environment in the West.

Millions of Evangelicals will quit. Thousands of ministries will end. Christian media will be reduced, if not eliminated. Many Christian schools will go into rapid decline. I’m convinced the grace and mission of God will reach to the ends of the earth. But the end of evangelicalism as we know it is close.

I think that I agree with article’s forecast.  Even in the good ole south I see the shakings of anti-Christian sentiment….scratch that….anti-organized religion sentiment.  My friend Jarrod has postulated that in the coming years the new world consciousness fueled by dogmatic environmentalism, collectivism, and progressive spiritual expression (new age) will diagnose the world’s major problem as being the hate spawning Abrahamic religions of Judaism, Islam, and Christianity.  He sees the world elite launching concerted attacks against the Abrahamic trio which are seen as the root of terror, hate, and human divisiveness threatening a multicutural, universal ‘utopia’.  Perhaps this is already happening.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Religion is increasingly the problem

  1. Tim H

    I think that this article maybe very true indeed. I find that where I live there are few churches around that preach truth or are preaching a gospel that leans towards man’s felt needs rather than the gospel of repentence and reconcilliation of Man to God.

    So maybe the real issue here is that since the gospel is not being preached, evangelical Christianity is indeed having a collapse or breakdown as this article states.

  2. Diane S.

    I happen to live in the Mid-West “Bible Belt”. The majority of churches here still do preach the Gospel. People coming into this community from other areas often complain about it being so conservative.

    It appears to me that the Emergent Movement is just a re-packaged Social Gospel whose logical progression ends up in Liberalism. If Evangelicalism is moving into the Emergent, perhaps in time God will raise up a counter-movement? Unless these are REALLY the “Last Days”?

  3. At times I think that the end IS near, but, then I remember that Xns have been thinking that forever. I know that the fringe prophetic movement that I was once a part of is convinced that this is an ‘endtimes generation’….we’ll see about that. The Lahaye books don’t help much either.

  4. Diane S.

    I agree with you there. I just finished the book, “End Time Delusions” by Steve Wohlberg. I still don’t know what to think about the whole subject. The only conclusion I’m leaning towards, is that there is just ONE Second Coming. However, we really won’t know for certain until it all happens…I’m sure there will be lots of surprises. I do think that the current trend causes its followers to lose focus on what is really important, and get caught up in the sensational instead.

  5. Diane,

    Glad to see you’ve seen the Biblical reality which classic dispensationalism chooses to ignore.

Leave a Reply

